Sunnyside offers its students a wide-range of activities. Below are descriptions to most of our clubs and activities. Additional opportunities will be communicated throughout the school year. Sunnyside teachers and staff encourage all students to get involved.


 (Updated 8/17/18)

Girls STEM Club

Start Date: September 20 End Date: May 2

Girls STEM Club will meet on Thursdays between 3:20 and 4:20 in Mrs. Scott’s Room, 104. Girls will be able to discuss STEM topics they learned in school, and collaborate with peers while working on fun STEM activities. Students will also learn about STEM opportunities in the real-world and learn about different STEM careers.

Sponsor: Erin Scott: escott@lsc.k12.in.us

 

Sunnyside 6th GradeSIA Leadership Group

Start Date: September 18 End Date: March 6

This is aStudents in Action Leadership Group for 6th Graders. Students arenominated by SIS teachers. Mrs. Sargent, 6th GradeHumanities Teacher, then asks ten 6th Graders to join this Leadership Group. This Sunnyside SIA group attends two leadershiptrainings at Purdue University. Our Lafayette Sunnyside SIA Leadership group will then compete against other LSC and TSC schools to see which area school bestcreates, executes and promotes their service project at the March North Central SIA/Jefferson Awards Competition.

Sponsor: Dawn Sargent: dsargent@lsc.k12.in.us

 

FIRST LEGO League Robotics Club

Start Date: August 20 End Date:Late November Competition

Why do we have a robotics club? To give boys and girls an opportunity to use science, math, and technology concepts in a game competition format. We are looking for programmers, designers, builders, researchers, and presenters for these events. More information about the FIRST LEGO League can be found athttps://www.firstinspires.org/robotics/fll

Sponsors: Brian Bettag bbettag@lsc.k12.in.us or Alicia Gebhardt agebhardt@lsc.k12.in.us ext. 8492

Additional Information: We will dismiss the activity bus riders in time to catch their buses, but we will work until 4:30 for car riders and walkers. We will dismiss from the doors by the main office (26thStreet).

 

SWAG (Students with a Goal)

Start Date: September 4 End Date: April 18

SWAG is an afterschool homework club that meets Monday-Thursday. This is a great opportunity for students who need a quiet place to work afterschool, need access to wifi, or would benefit from opportunities to get help on homework from teachers in the building.

Sponsor: Sarah Carignan: scarignan@lsc.k12.in.us

Additional Information: Students will need to bring iPad, homework, and reading book daily.

 

Club Generations

Start Date: Wednesday, August 29th End Date: Wednesday, May 8th

Big hearts and ears are always wanted for Club Generations.” Students in Club Generations have the opportunity to visit with our elder generations at our nearby healthcare facilities; St. Mary’s and The Springs. Students may join anytime throughout the year. Even one visit can significantly impact lives!

Sponsor: Christina Stanfield: cstanfield@lsc.k12.in.us

 

5/6 Grade Girls Volleyball

Start Date: August 20 End Date: Early October

Our girls volleyball team is open to anyone who can make it to practice the first few days!We will not be having tryouts.We are focusing on learning basic skills and having the girls fall in love with the sport.We will have 4 games.2 will be here at Sunnyside, one at Lafayette Christian, and one at St. James.Transportation will be provided to the games.We will be getting together 3 times a week.Practice will be over every day at 4:20pm.Students can ride the activity bus, which will drop them off at the elementary school closest to where they live, they can take theCity Bus, or they can be picked up by a guardian. There is no cost to be on the volleyball team.

Coach Ashley Baldwin: abaldwin@lsc.k12.in.us or Coach Kelsey Dunham: kdunham@lsc.k12.in.us

Additional Information: Dress: t-shirt, shorts (no spandex or skin tight shorts), and tennis shoes, hair up in a ponytail for practice and games

 

Intramural Boys and Girls Basketball

Girls: August 13-September 6

Boys: September 10-October 4

Collection of drills and exercises to better your basketball skills as well as games and competitions daily

Boys Contact: Will Abdon: wabdon@lsc.k12.in.us

Girls Contact: Andy Baker: abaker1@lsc.k12.in.us

Sunnyside Ambassadors

Start Date: Year round (5th graders selected in April) End Date: May of 6th grade year

Sunnyside Ambassadors are 6th grade student representatives for the school who give tours, assist during choir, band, and orchestra concerts, and help with our annual school food drive. The Ambassadors also help raise money for local organizations and participate in other community projects. Students are recommended by a teacher at the end of 5th grade and are selected based on merit.We have approximately seven meetings during the school year and students are expected to work at least four events outside of regular school hours.

Sponsor: Jen Fultz: jfultz@lsc.k12.in.us

 

6th Grade Cheerleading

We start in August and end in October (SIS football season).

When to sign-up for cheerleading:

We have cheer call-outs in May for any 5th grader who will be a 6th grader when we return to school in August.—Be sure to listen to the announcements for sign-up dates!

Since cheerleading begins the second week of school, we prefer and highly encourage any student interested to sign up on time.

We have 15 spots available;first come, first serve!

Cheerleading details:

We practice twice a week after school in the auditorium (3:20-4:20).The Activity bus is available and we appreciate prompt pick-ups if you are a car-rider.:)

We cheer at all Sunnyside home games (usually only 3-4 games)

No experience is necessary!We want to get the girls interested in Cheerleading!!

We work closely with Tecumseh cheerleaders, so that if you choose to try-out at TJHS as a 7th grader you are a bit more prepared.

We encourage all cheerleaders to live the Broncho Way inside and outside of school.Cheerleaders should be a positive reflection of our school and our community.

What do you need?

Cheer fees will cover your uniform, which we will order. (cheer shirt and shorts)

You will need to provide your own white tennis shoes.

For practice, you should bring athletic shorts, a t-shirt, and your tennis shoes to school to change into before practice.

Sunnyside Cheer Coaches: Dawn Sargentdsargent@lsc.k12.in.us and Cassie Smithccsmith1@lsc.k12.in.us

Boys Book Club

Start Date:April 10, 2019 End Date:May 15, 2019

The Boys’ Book Club is an afterschool activity of the Sunnyside Library. Come to meet with other boys who like to read!

Each week we will have an adult guest who will relate his experiences with reading. You will do projects and activities that will stimulate your imagination and curiosity.

The BBC (Boys’ Book Club) will meet on Wednesdays from 3:15 – 4:20 p.m. in April and May, starting April 10.

Pick up a permission slip in the library and return it to Mrs. Gillespie by April 9.

Sponsor: Grace Gillespie: ggillespie@lsc.k12.in.us